Canadian Cancer Trials Group Bulletins


CCTG Members Named to the Order of Canada

Dr. Gerald BatistDr. Gerald Batist has been a CCTG member since 1991, is a past Chair of the Investigational New Drug (IND) Committee, and has been chair of several IND trials.

Dr. Gerald Batist is Chair of the Department of Oncology, McGill University. He is also Director of the McGill Centre for Translational Research in Cancer, which was established to stimulate rapid translation of new discoveries in the research laboratory into clinical benefits for patients. A major award from the Canadian Foundation for Innovation led to the expansion of the Translational Research Centre into the Montreal Centre for Experimental Therapeutics in Cancer, which is a major component of the Segal Cancer Centre at the Jewish General Hospital.

Dr. Gerald Batist is a Professor in the McGill University Departments of Medicine and Oncology and the McGill Cancer Centre, as well as an Associate Member of the Division of Experimental Medicine the Department of Pharmacology & Therapeutics and the McGill Nutrition and Food Sciences Centre. He is an associate member of the Department of Pharmacology at the Université de Montréal.

Dr. Batist was named to the Order of Canada "For his advances in applying personalized medicine to cancer treatment, and for his leadership in creating research networks in his field."

Dr. Mark LevineDr. Mark Levine has been a CCTG member since 1991 and was chair of MA.5 (Cooperative Clinical Trial of Intensive CEF versus Standard CMF as Adjuvant Therapy for Breast Carcinoma in Premenopausal Patients With Histologically Involved Axillary Nodes) and MA.21 (A Phase III Adjuvant Trial of Sequenced EC + Filgrastim + Epoetin Alfa Followed by Paclitaxel Versus Sequenced AC Followed by Paclitaxel Versus CEF as Therapy for Premenopausal Women and Early Postmenopausal Women Who Have Had Potentially Curative Surgery for Node Positive or High Risk Node Negative Breast Cancer).

The results of MA.5 showed that intensive anthracycline-containing adjuvant treatment CEF (cyclophosphamide, epirubicin, fluorouracil) was superior to CMF (cyclophosphamide, methotrexate, fluorouracil) in terms of both disease-free and overall survival. This led to the regulatory approval of epirubicin in Canada and adoption of CEF as standard therapy in the treatment of premenopausal women with axillary node-positive breast cancer.

Dr. Levine is the founding Scientific Director of the Escarpment Cancer Research Institute and is Chair and Professor in the Department of Oncology at McMaster University, Hamilton, Ontario and is Director of the Ontario Clinical Oncology Group. He holds the Buffett Taylor Chair in Breast Cancer Research at McMaster. Dr. Levine is a past recipient of the O. Harold Warwick Prize (1999) from the National Cancer Institute of Canada. In 2012, he became a Fellow of the American Society of Clinical Oncology.

Dr. Levine was named to the Order of Canada "For his contributions as an oncologist, researcher and clinician who has developed a number of new treatment regimens that have become the Canadian standard in clinical practice."

Established in 1967 by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, the Order of Canada is the cornerstone of the Canadian Honours System, and recognizes outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation. The Order recognizes people in all sectors of Canadian society. Their contributions are varied, yet they have all enriched the lives of others and made a difference to this country.